Part of the Problem or Solution ?

Posted: February 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

As I reflect on being an educator I must remember I am dedicated to student success and making sure my students needs are being met in an educational setting. I continually ask the question am I truly helping them in order to be successful not just this year, but in the future?  Am I truly guiding them to be independent thinkers while still instilling the importance of collaboration and teamwork? How I can I help them be prepared for jobs that don’t exist yet and help them use technology to the fullest extent without getting them confused or overwhelmed by it all. I sometimes forget they are only seven or eight years old and that they are very young in the grand scheme of their life. They will have many experiences after the moment I have with them. I have to help them learn by connecting with what they know not what I know at forty-six; therefore I must take a step back and have empathy, compassion, and caring I must try to see through the eyes of an seven/eight year old in the 21st century.

With that being said I have come across many helpful blogs and tech ideas, which may help bridge the gap and help my students be successful. Although I must be mindful of whom they are as individuals and a class I can still help guide them.  I am constantly in search of technology educational tools I can use with my students the blog Flipping Your Classroom With Free Web Tools – Guest Post is an excellent resource for ideas on how to integrate technology in your classroom in order to help students become connected leaner’s. Furthermore, this article on Oregon live regarding using an ipad to help student create a story is an excellent resource for the classroom.

Lastly the blog Audacious Educationist, which originally came from Topical Teaching, has a great blog about how IT can sometime breed lazy teaching and that technology does not necessarily make education better, it all depends on how the tools are being utilized. I appreciate the insight this blog provides and it reiterates the idea that I must continue to have empathy for my students in order continue to grow with them so they can be successful in the 21st century.

I want to be part of the solution and not the problem.

The Problem With IT in the Classroom.

Leave a Reply

